Coming Back to India from UK…

I am back to mother land again! Thoughts are getting stuck in mind about some differences between UK and India. Good as well as Bad things… Sharing some of them…

1st thing is that particular smell of our own land… and then you just can’t ignore the crowd!!! Even a deaf, dumb and blind will also tell that India is such populated country. Then small things matter so much??? Though we were very tired still we walked far and spent half hour in search of ‘Chatwala’!

Reading ‘Times Of India’ was a joyful moment like never before! It gives us so many quality news in just Rs.3.50-5.50 (5-8p in UK). In UK newspaper vendor will laugh at you if you show them 8p! In UK whenever we read price tags of anything we used to convert it in Indian rupee, I am sure by now everyone have table of 80 (simple Pound to Rs. conversion) in mind, even our UK friends. Most of the things are so cheap in India. Of course all these things are relative as I know there are many people who are struggling for bread and butter.

It was never so painful to see dirt and unorganized driving on roadL. Earlier I rarely used to force/suggest others to put unwanted things in dustbin but now I am going to do that! Why can’t we keep everything clean? I know it’s like ‘selling mirrors to blinds’. It’s going to be difficult to find balance in many things for some days.

As soon as I came outside Delhi airport I have seen people working hard for basic needs whereas in UK I didn’t see people struggling for it. It was difficult to find (again relatively) poor person there. I think they have done with struggle for basic needs and looking ahead… Or if anyone has problem government helps them. But there is big difference in Tax payment also. Every month my UK host mother was paying Tax which is more than thrice of my monthly salary! It’s so annoying to see many of us don’t even get paid in our jobs which an unemployed UK citizen gets from government.

A girl is staying with me in dormitory who is the only player to represent India in Skiing in Winter Olympics this time. We were talking about how Indian sport person face financial problem and lose opportunity sometimes…  But UK government provides good support to art and sport. I have seen excitement and preparations for London Olympics. I don’t want to compare things between UK and India still I can’t stop myself…

I am still not in position to say much about UK but I can surely say visiting UK thrown lights on how big, diverse and complicated India is! Visiting UK helped me knowing India better… So funny… I am aware of the fact that there are number of cultural, social, psychological, political, economical and geographical reasons behind all these things. But what’s the harm in changing some things for good cause? I have changed! Will you???

About Mukesh Bhavsar

Mukesh has done BE Civil from Mumbai University and MA Political Science from IGNOU. He is currently pursuing masters in HR Management from Tata Institute of Social Sciences (TISS). He has worked for a couple of NGOs in India and UK. He has also written for some newspapers and magazines on different social issues. He was one of the 20 volunteers of India-UK Global Xchange program in 2011. Mukesh is interested in entrepreneurship, writing, social work, travelling, and photography. Follow him on twitter- https://twitter.com/mukeshbhavsar88
This entry was posted in Global Xchange, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coming Back to India from UK…

  1. Saamy says:

    Good to see ya back buddy!
    its a bit off the track, but I want someone to go to Srilanka or Pakistan, and then compare these countries with ours.. Because Western countries will be somehow different than India. always.

  2. Aarti says:

    Enjoyed reading your post! I’m glad you got the opportunity for this amazing experience 🙂

Leave a Reply

